NEW DIAGNOSIS

Corky

Member
UPDATE:
Apparently it was not a UTI that was ailing Corky but an infected anal gland, this gland due to the antibiotic administered it burst this morning, health wise and BG wise he is doing great, and eating Ok, just spoke to the vet he said to keep the area clean with warm water and put iodine, that he did not see the swollen glands even in the X-ray, also the X-rays showed intact organs excellent condition, that the antibiotic most likely, aggravated it and pushed out the infection, that the worst is over, yesterday when we got to the vet he had 104 fever and had not eaten for about 12 hours but nibbled on his food, the high BG’s was what alerted me something was wrong really wrong, the Vet administered a medication to immediately reduce the fever and a immediate reléase antibiotic, he went home with antibiotic 12 hours a day, today is a new day, we are both more relaxed, there’s no danger for Corky any longer which make me happy, now is just a matter of taking him back to stable numbers again. 😺 😺
 
Keep in mind once they have had an abscess, they are more prone to their anal glands filling and another occurring. My female cat had this and we have the vet express her anal glands every three months. She’s had no more infection or abscess but the gland that got infected usually has some gunk in it when they express it.
 
Keep in mind once they have had an abscess, they are more prone to their anal glands filling and another occurring. My female cat had this and we have the vet express her anal glands every three months. She’s had no more infection or abscess but the gland that got infected usually has some gunk in it when they express it.
Is very strange because is not anywhere close to the anal area but on the left side closer to the tail, I’m taking her back to the vet tomorrow morning, there’s no more oozing, just a little hole on her skin where everything came out of it looks like a picture, I am baffled
 
Coco was acting up yesterday when Corky would be around her, she had the vets office smell, and the first thing I did was check her mouth, she has never been violent especially with Corky but she was hissing a lot to him, it really looked like a puncture more than anything, I was horrified but Coco’s mouth was clean, and is really a miniature hole not a tear, I’m overwhelmed about all this, I’m really overwhelmed
 
If your cat will let you, you can express the glands yourself. I do it sometimes with Leroy. Your vet can show you how to express the glands. The brown stinky goo tends to shoot out so do this in the bathroom with paper towels on hand and don't wear your good clothes.
 
Coco was acting up yesterday when Corky would be around her, she had the vets office smell, and the first thing I did was check her mouth, she has never been violent especially with Corky but she was hissing a lot to him, it really looked like a puncture more than anything, I was horrified but Coco’s mouth was clean, and is really a miniature hole not a tear, I’m overwhelmed about all this, I’m really overwhelmed
Sending you great big hugs. Corky will be ok, I see his numbers have already started to come down and I'm glad the vet is checking him out again tomorrow. Maybe a cyst if it's not near his anal glands. 🤗 🤗
 
Last edited:
😣🙀😿😿, I hope is something less aggravating and a passing thing, Not in my wildest dreams could I have imagined what I saw this morning, 12 years of health, I don’t even count the diabetes
 
I agree with Marje, years ago my long haired Calico had a ruptured anal gland, it’s worth keeping the anal glands clear just to be sure they don’t get impacted again to where they rupture. When it happened with my girl, actually it really freaked me out, since it was my German shepherd dog who alerted me to it. He was absolutely fixated following her around and because she was a long coat I only saw the ruptured anal gland product which had blood in it. Best to keep the area clean and continue with antibiotics as prescribed until they are finished. Glad Corky is doing better.
 
From my experience, I doubt it is is cyst. When an anal gland ruptures, you will unfortunately see a hole like the pic you have, that’s what it looks like. Which is why you don’t want the anal glands to get impacted and rupture, far easier to manage the issue by having the anal glands expressed.
I had no idea about any of this since he has never had any health issues, this is so unexpected and so at the wrong time, when he was so well adjusted and regulated it saddens me 😿 🙀😺😺
 
I completely agree with Christie. It’s not a cyst; that is what a ruptured anal gland looks like.
I’m glad I have you guys on my corner, it has not been a great week, my nerves are shot and Corky’s troubles have taken a toll, I will be firm with the Vet today and ask why didn't he see this, and diagnosed a UTI! I cant Wait till 10:00 AM to be in the office, I will keep all of you posted as soon as I get back, thank you for being here with me:)😺😺
 
Corky's BG is great this morning 87 , for a vet visit, AM at 10:30 since he stresses so much and work is to be done on that gland, I am not administering the antibiotic, in case the Vet gives other medications, wish me good will wonderful members,;) cross your fingers!!!! I am very nervous, he is comfortable, no fever, However his Sister Coco is a bit aggressive or fears him somewhat I guess the smell of the gland is turning her off, and she's not eating as much and in a different place away from Corky, she doesn't want to get anywhere near Corky, poor thing😺😺🫠
 
Corky's BG is great this morning 87 , for a vet visit, AM at 10:30 since he stresses so much and work is to be done on that gland, I am not administering the antibiotic, in case the Vet gives other medications, wish me good will wonderful members,;) cross your fingers!!!! I am very nervous, he is comfortable, no fever, However his Sister Coco is a bit aggressive or fears him somewhat I guess the smell of the gland is turning her off, and she's not eating as much and in a different place away from Corky, she doesn't want to get anywhere near Corky, poor thing😺😺🫠
Best of luck today!! 🥰
 
UPDATE/VET VISIT
we are home, it was devastating seeing how Corky’s glad was being cleaned out, it’ll you were all correct, The vet apologized for the pre diagnose, but he explained that the gland was apparently full but not visible and the strong antibiotics given, pushed out the infection or emptied the gland, also that it is not as common in cats; Corky has a cone, he is very uncomfortable, I have to clean tge holes every day squirt iodine in it then press it out, the area was shaven, his BG of course is really high, he ate quite well, follow-up in 7 days. Thanks to all members that kept me sane thru this🐱🤗
 
UPDATE
We are starting the weekend with great BG numbers again, cleaning the wound was not as impressive as I thought and Corky was a CHAMP, and having the cone immobilizes him a bit, the wound looks great not oozing whatsoever, continuing antibiotics. Again, Thanks to all of you for your support ;) 😺😺
 
I just dosed PMPS at 83! It seems that all he blues prior to erupted glad were due to this issue, should I continue The 1.75u dose??
 
It looks like you shot. You have shot an 88 before with a 1.75 unit dose and Corky did great. I also know how closely you monitor Corky so I am not worried…. even if Corky has a plan to get a reduction.
 
I actually was hoping he would earn a reduction tonight! I have full confidence in you to handle low numbers so I was hoping Corky would give us a sign that he was ready.
 
Back
Top