Sticky New Here? How to Help Us Help You

Sticky
Status
Not open for further replies.

Administrator

 
Staff member
📌 New Here? How to Help Us Help You

Welcome to the forum! We know the early days of managing feline diabetes can be overwhelming. You’ve already taken a great first step by joining this community of caregivers who support each other. To make it easier for our volunteers to guide you, here are some key tips to get started on the right foot.

Note: All blood glucose (BG) values here use human glucose meter readings (mg/dL).



🧰 Build Your Hypo Safety Kit​


Be prepared before giving insulin:
  • ✅ Stock up on medium-carb (10–17%) and high-carb (18%+) wet foods, labeled for quick ID
  • ✅ Keep honey or corn syrup (like Karo) on hand for emergencies
  • ✅ Have at least 50 spare test strips
  • ✅ Write down your nearest emergency vet’s contact info
  • ✅ Print and post these on your fridge or keep in your kit:


📊 Set Up & Use a Spreadsheet​


We rely on your cat’s spreadsheet to offer personalized advice.
🔁 Keep it updated before asking for help. Helpers check your spreadsheet first before offering their thoughts.




💉 Before You Give Insulin…​

  • ✅ Always test BG before each dose—never assume!
  • ❌ Never give insulin if BG is under 50 mg/dL

Please read about the dosing methods for more detailed no-shoot numbers.

If you're unsure, stall (don’t feed), test again in 20 minutes, and post for help.




🆘 When BG Drops Low…​

  • Retest if you get a low number during a cycle.
  • If someone is guiding you, please:
    • Confirm you saw their message (e.g., “gave HC food, will test again in 20 min”)
    • Don’t vanish—keep replying so they know your cat is safe
  • Update the subject line with new BG numbers to make it easy for helpers to track your thread



🚨 Using the “911” Thread Prefix​


Use this only for true emergencies, such as:
  • Symptoms of hypoglycemia
  • BG under 30 mg/dL
  • Signs of serious illness needing vet or ER care



🧾 Understand Blood Glucose Units​

  • US meters use mg/dL
  • Other countries use mmol/L
Conversion:
  • US → World: Divide by 18 (e.g., 180 mg/dL = 10 mmol/L)
  • World → US: Multiply by 18 (e.g., 6 mmol/L = 108 mg/dL)
Please post US values on the forum for consistency.




📝 Complete Your Signature​


This helps us offer fast, accurate help. Go to Settings > Signature and include:
  • Your name & your cat’s name
  • Date of diabetes diagnosis
  • Insulin type
  • Glucose meter type (human/pet)
  • Diet (e.g., LC wet, combo, dry)
  • Dosing method: TR, SLGS, custom, etc.
  • Past DKA or other conditions (e.g., acro, IAA, Cushing's)
  • Spreadsheet link (on its own line at the bottom)
Do not include personal details or work schedules. You may add your country in your profile, not your signature.




🙏 Thank You for Helping Us Help You​


We're here to support you and your cat every step of the way. The more prepared and responsive you are, the better we can assist you. You've got this—and we're cheering you on!

- Tim

Change Log:
Created on 5/18/2025. Need to add links to the dosing methods. Need to add links to the hypo tools.

Sources:
Feline Diabetes Message Board. "New? How You Can Help Us Help You!" Feline Diabetes. 11 July 2019.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top