Update on Dexter | Page 2 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

Update on Dexter

Yes, please increase to 1 unit tomorrow morning, okay? Even if you are following SLGS (which you should with a newly diagnosed diabetic) — with his ketones in the picture— we will fast track him a little bit. His “nadirs” are quite high and he needs the increase to 1 unit. After we get nadirs down, we will return to normal SLGS dosing.
 
Hey all! Thanks for checking! Dex is still eating & acting normal. I am still trying to flush the ketones. I did get a 1.8 ketone but today he is 2.4

If I am using slgs & has been on the increase from .25 to .50 for six cycles & his lowest nadir is 275, are yall saying to increase to 1.0?
With a ketone-prone kitty, we should fast track him a bit. Under SLGS, you’d hold the 0.5u dose for a week, run a curve, and adjust the dose accordingly.

However, I think it’s wise to increase his doses a little quicker until you are seeing nadirs under 300. I’d suggest increasing his dose to 1u twice a day starting tomorrow morning unless you see a string of yellow tonight.
 
Hang in there. I was hoping to see better numbers today, but we should be patient with him. 1 unit is still quite a small dose of insulin for a newly diagnosed diabetic cat. Where are you recording ketones? It would be good if you made a narrow column to record his ketones. I made mine just before the Remarks section of the spreadsheet.
 
It is great to see some yellow on the sheet for last night! I also noticed your note about the Libre being on its last day so numbers may not be reliable. Are you gone all day for work today?
 
I was so happy! And his ketones went from 2.4 to 1.5 Unfortunately I am at work for this am cycle. He had a high amps off the relion today (456) and his new libre still says high @ +3. I won’t be home to get an ear prick until pmps and then will get them for tonights cycle.
 
Back
Top