? 5/10 Minner AMPS 123/155 - higher carbs

MinnerPip

Member
Yesterday’s post

Hi, despite having cerenia onboard since 4pm yesterday, Minner still not interested in her low carb normal food. I injected zofran this morning but I don’t think that’s going to change her willingness. She has no hesitation eating florentine (13%) and hartz bisque (high carb, prob 30+) …the cat equivalents of eating ice cream and cookies.

Knock on wood, no vomiting or diarrhea. She has actually had no bowel movements at all (pee or poop) since her diarrhea/vomit episode almost 24 hours ago. I would think she should pee soon or I’ll need to start worrying about that.

The vet told me she did not think it necessary to do spec fPL …. “When their amylase and lipase are low normal, I do not recommend that test. Even if the test showed a high result (indicating elevated lipase), it is still symptomatic treatment”.

My husband thinks I should let her eat the wet foods that are in the 10-13% carb range and alter her insulin dose to handle it, at least until we get past whatever this is. Can anyone help me with that? I’ve been keeping her so tightly regulated and eating only 0-5% carb foods, I have no idea how to manage letting her eat the MC food. She’s been at 5.75 units for 3 weeks and was at 6u for 3 weeks prior to that. Should I bump her back to 6 units with MC food? Or wait for her to BG to go above a value? I just don't want to pass the renal threshold given the further risk of dehydration.
 
Yesterday’s post

Hi, despite having cerenia onboard since 4pm yesterday, Minner still not interested in her low carb normal food. I injected zofran this morning but I don’t think that’s going to change her willingness. She has no hesitation eating florentine (13%) and hartz bisque (high carb, prob 30+) …the cat equivalents of eating ice cream and cookies.

Knock on wood, no vomiting or diarrhea. She has actually had no bowel movements at all (pee or poop) since her diarrhea/vomit episode almost 24 hours ago. I would think she should pee soon or I’ll need to start worrying about that.

The vet told me she did not think it necessary to do spec fPL …. “When their amylase and lipase are low normal, I do not recommend that test. Even if the test showed a high result (indicating elevated lipase), it is still symptomatic treatment”.

My husband thinks I should let her eat the wet foods that are in the 10-13% carb range and alter her insulin dose to handle it, at least until we get past whatever this is. Can anyone help me with that? I’ve been keeping her so tightly regulated and eating only 0-5% carb foods, I have no idea how to manage letting her eat the MC food. She’s been at 5.75 units for 3 weeks and was at 6u for 3 weeks prior to that. Should I bump her back to 6 units with MC food? Or wait for her to BG to go above a value? I just don't want to pass the renal threshold given the further risk of dehydration.
Hi Laura, I agree with Mary, use a question mark so others know you have a question about how to proceed.

I’m so glad Minner is eating. That’s a wonderful sign. It’s also good that she’s not having diarrhea.

I agree I would let her eat whatever you can get her to eat right now to get her over the hump past whatever is going on.

Eating is the most important thing and of course fluids so if you can add any extra water as long as she will eat it, you could try that

When Ivy had pancreatitis in February one of the reasons I ran her to the ER was she hadn’t peed all day and I got really freaked out.

Of course, I got her there around 3 o’clock in the afternoon. They took her back and she peed on the exam table.
So at least that ruled out that problem!

I guess the most important thing here also is that you’re treating the symptoms because that’s what they seem to do with pancreatitis. They just treat the symptoms so just assume that it is and treat it appropriately to get them better.
Sending you lots of good wishes and hoping you get some dosing guidance soon!
❤️‍🩹🙏😻
 
Thank you Staci and Mary. Adding question mark …. Still no pee today. To my surprise, she went from 165 to 70 in four hours this afternoon … from +5 to +9. But I’m also not used to her being that high at +5. So I probably just keep feeding medium carb and not mess with her dose, as long as she is getting at least 50% of her caloric intake. I wish I could get more into her, for the liquid/water benefit, but she’s resisting all her low carb foods. Sigh.
 
Thank you Staci and Mary. Adding question mark …. Still no pee today. To my surprise, she went from 165 to 70 in four hours this afternoon … from +5 to +9. But I’m also not used to her being that high at +5. So I probably just keep feeding medium carb and not mess with her dose, as long as she is getting at least 50% of her caloric intake. I wish I could get more into her, for the liquid/water benefit, but she’s resisting all her low carb foods. Sigh.
I hope she pees soon. I agree to let her eat what she's willing to eat for now, especially if there's a history of DKA.

I can totally understand your concerns, her numbers have been amazing! Hopefully someone will pop in to answer. My guess would be you wouldn't adjust your dose until the data showed that was needed.... and that will be a tough call if it's food related since the pain and inflammation would also cause a rise in BG.

Hope she feels better soon. 🤗
 
Last edited:
Oh, and can you switch foods that are LC? She may be associated her usual LC as the thing that made her sick.
That’s a really good point. I feed her all the Fancy Feast pates and chunky’s. All 5% and lower. She’s showing no interest in any. I keep trying. I bought some Weruva options that are LC that she has never had before. No dice. Unwilling to even lick. Note this is the kitty that took me 4 months to convert off dry food last year. Super picky. If I didn’t love her so much I would strangle her from frustration.
 
That’s a really good point. I feed her all the Fancy Feast pates and chunky’s. All 5% and lower. She’s showing no interest in any. I keep trying. I bought some Weruva options that are LC that she has never had before. No dice. Unwilling to even lick. Note this is the kitty that took me 4 months to convert off dry food last year. Super picky. If I didn’t love her so much I would strangle her from frustration.
Funny but not funny! So frustrating and just adds to the stress 🤗. At least she's eating something.
 
Thank you Staci and Mary. Adding question mark …. Still no pee today. To my surprise, she went from 165 to 70 in four hours this afternoon … from +5 to +9. But I’m also not used to her being that high at +5. So I probably just keep feeding medium carb and not mess with her dose, as long as she is getting at least 50% of her caloric intake. I wish I could get more into her, for the liquid/water benefit, but she’s resisting all her low carb foods. Sigh.
Interestingly, when it happened to Ivy her BG dropped and I had to lower her dose very quickly while this was going on.
Especially since she wasn’t eating, so I was terrified of too high a dose and not enough food.
It was very scary!

I hope Minner starts to feel better quickly. I think once I got Ivy on pain meds (buprenorphine ) plus all the other stuff, things began to turn around 🤞🙏❤️‍🩹
 
Can you get some ondansetron to try? It works better for nausea and some cats need both cerenia and ondansetron. Until feeling better I would feed the lowest carb foods Minner will eat even if mc. You dint want fatty liver disease to complicate things and if not eating enough calories it could. Not saying it would.
 
Thank you so much to all who are chiming in with ideas, suggestions, support.

Here’s the latest ….

SHE PEED !! Like Jude, it was size of Montana. She must have held her bladder til ready to burst. About 28 hours.

She’s been on Cerenia and Metronidazole for about 28 hours and Zofran/Ondansetron for about 15 hours. Will keep giving all.

I added Mirataz about 3 hours ago. Low and behold, an hour after rubbing it on her ear, she ate some of her 2% pate … and lapped on weruva stew and ate some florentine. It was good despite continuing to include the MC florentine. I’m constantly in fear of hypo so after seeing that drop from 165 to 70 in 4 hours outside of the main action time of Lantus, I’m going to keep running her high until we get past whatever this is.
 
Thank you so much to all who are chiming in with ideas, suggestions, support.

Here’s the latest ….

SHE PEED !! Like Jude, it was size of Montana. She must have held her bladder til ready to burst. About 28 hours.

She’s been on Cerenia and Metronidazole for about 28 hours and Zofran/Ondansetron for about 15 hours. Will keep giving all.

I added Mirataz about 3 hours ago. Low and behold, an hour after rubbing it on her ear, she ate some of her 2% pate … and lapped on weruva stew and ate some florentine. It was good despite continuing to include the MC florentine. I’m constantly in fear of hypo so after seeing that drop from 165 to 70 in 4 hours outside of the main action time of Lantus, I’m going to keep running her high until we get past whatever this is.
Great report, Laura! Yeah for pees the size of Montana!! I hope she only continues to improve going forward.
 
Back
Top