5/18 Egon PMPS 269 +4.5 295 AMPS 257 switched to TR

Egon PMPS 269 +4.5 295 AMPS 257 switched to TR
Last Post

Hi,
I decided to not switch Egon's food until we come back from our trip at the end of the month but we did switch to TR based on Marje's suggestion and I am hoping this can help us move down back out of these yellows and pinks. Hope springs eternal... But overall Egon is feeling really good. He's been extra prancy with his fancy lil plantigrade walk. It's nice to see him so chipper. Wishing all the kitties a safe week!
 
So glad to hear that Egon is feeling better. I think you'll like the numbers you'll see on TR--you can look at my or Helen's sheet to see how effective it was for our cats. I was just telling @Kat & Trixie last night that Trixie is the textbook case for TR--take at look at her sheet at the point she switched to TR. Impressive! Anyway, wishing you much good luck with the switch.
 
Egon PMPS 269 +4.5 295 AMPS 257 switched to TR
Last Post

Hi,
I decided to not switch Egon's food until we come back from our trip at the end of the month but we did switch to TR based on Marje's suggestion and I am hoping this can help us move down back out of these yellows and pinks. Hope springs eternal... But overall Egon is feeling really good. He's been extra prancy with his fancy lil plantigrade walk. It's nice to see him so chipper. Wishing all the kitties a safe week!
how have you found TR to be (on you, not Egon). any issues at night? what do you do to monitor through the night? I think that is the thing keeping me off TR right now (that and Oregano's apparent steadfast commitment to not going full soft food, which we are working on). She sleeps in the room with us and the libre has an alarm if glucose drops to 90. i get up at 2am to check her and if it's in the low 100's i tend to sit up and monitor for a while. Which i think may be a bit ocd on my part as 120 or so is a good number, i have learned on this site. and shooting at the low numbers terrifies me still.

Those PM +3 through +11--do you have an alarm set in case Egon starts to drop? my vet insists Lantus is made to specifically NOT drop too far and kitties on it don't need all the monitoring i'm doing, so i'm trying. but it is tough.
 
@wade So far Egon’s curves have been high and flat with no sudden drops. Fingers crossed it stays that way and comes down slowly. I decided to go TR because he’s on such a high dose and won’t come down, I just need to change something to hopefully try and help us get those numbers better. Luckily I work from home mostly so I can do random spot checks throughout the day and my boyfriend stays up late for late tests but so far TR hasn’t been concerning because our numbers are so high in general. We’re only a week in so will have to keep you posted on that. It may be helpful to ask some of the more experienced TR people @Mary & Jude @Kat & Trixie @Marje and Gracie
 
Good luck with TR. When you are over 5 units total dose, you can increase by 0.5 units at a time, unless you are just tweaking a dose that is already seeing some greens. You could have gone to 6.75 units this AM. But I also understand preferring to be "on the line" with syringes.

It's great to hear that Egon is feeling good. Often you'll notice some behaviour changes for the better as they get closer to a dose that moves them.
 
@wade So far Egon’s curves have been high and flat with no sudden drops. Fingers crossed it stays that way and comes down slowly. I decided to go TR because he’s on such a high dose and won’t come down, I just need to change something to hopefully try and help us get those numbers better. Luckily I work from home mostly so I can do random spot checks throughout the day and my boyfriend stays up late for late tests but so far TR hasn’t been concerning because our numbers are so high in general. We’re only a week in so will have to keep you posted on that. It may be helpful to ask some of the more experienced TR people @Mary & Jude @Kat & Trixie @Marje and Gracie
Great job. I hope this will help you see some better numbers soon. Let us know when you have him tested. I’m hoping it’s just glucose toxicity and he’ll breakthrough soon.🤞🏻🤞🏻🤞🏻
 
Good luck with TR. When you are over 5 units total dose, you can increase by 0.5 units at a time, unless you are just tweaking a dose that is already seeing some greens. You could have gone to 6.75 units this AM. But I also understand preferring to be "on the line" with syringes.

It's great to hear that Egon is feeling good. Often you'll notice some behaviour changes for the better as they get closer to a dose that moves them.
Good to know! Thank you!
 
Back
Top