6/18 Bat Boy AMPS 187 PMPS 391 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/18 Bat Boy AMPS 187 PMPS 391

justemg

Member
Bat Boy went below 40 last night. I fed medium carb canned and he went up to a safer level. I think per the protocol I reduced the dose by .25U. So now I wait at this dose for a minimum of 6 cycles? Weird because I was set to actually increase his dose slightly this morning as his numbers seemed to be remaining fairly high. As their body readjusts to insulin again do the bounces start to level out? Bat pic for tax 🙃Bat Boy Bat Toy.jpg

6/15 Bat Boy AMPS 396
 
Last edited:
That was a scary low last night! I can't remember: are you able to use a handheld monitor with BB? Such a cute photo!
 
Bat Boy went below 40 last night. I fed medium carb canned and he went up to a safer level. I think per the protocol I reduced the dose by .25U. So now I wait at this dose for a minimum of 6 cycles?
Yes, you would give it at least 8 cycles on 1.25U before you evaluate the dose again. Unless he earns another reduction in that time!

No, I am not able to. He's a dangerously sassy boy and also unpredictable. I have to rely on what the libre is telling me.
We've found that the Libre reads much lower in lower numbers than a regular meter which is why we suggest that Libre lows are verified by a ear poke - especially when they affect dosing decisions. More on this on this thread:
Dose? - 6/16/25 Jonah. Is it time for a dose increase?
 
Thank you Bandit's mom. I do understand the ear poke thing, but it's a no go with our guy. Some cats are so fractious that they are virtually unmedicatable. It is a delicate dance with our guy and we are very lucky to have gotten even this far with his treatment.

The study referenced states that "IG overestimated BG concentrations by 6.0 plus or minus 6.8 mg/dL in the 38 to 49 mg/dL range." Meaning that when the Libre is reading between 39-49 the blood glucose is actually overestimated in their study and is lower than the sensor is reading in this range. Other studies find the device to be pretty accurate and safe for treatment decisions. Interestingly they also find that the lag between the interstitial blood glucose readings and manual blood glucose readings can lag up to 30 minutes, so especially during times of rapidly changing blood glucose the Libre readings could appear to be inaccurate but can be up to 30 minutes behind the changes that have happened in that 30 minute lag period. Maybe the cat was in a hypo state 30 minutes earlier but their numbers have come up as indicated on the manual stick test. It would be interesting if someone who did both manual sticks and used the libre would try to match up those values - a manual stick vs. what the libre read 30 minutes later.
 
Last edited:
Bat Boy went below 40 last night. I fed medium carb canned and he went up to a safer level. I think per the protocol I reduced the dose by .25U. So now I wait at this dose for a minimum of 6 cycles? Weird because I was set to actually increase his dose slightly this morning as his numbers seemed to be remaining fairly high. As their body readjusts to insulin again do the bounces start to level out? Bat pic for tax 🙃View attachment 561

6/15 Bat Boy AMPS 396
Good luck with the reduction. Bat Boy is just adorable! Love his little claws and how he’s peeking at your bat 🐈‍⬛💕😻
 
Good luck with the reduction. Bat Boy is just adorable! Love his little claws and how he’s peeking at your bat 🐈‍⬛💕😻
Thank you! I feel like it will be a failure. His numbers stay pretty high and then there are these one off hypo episodes without him having really settled into any lower numbers first.
 
Thank you! I feel like it will be a failure. His numbers stay pretty high and then there are these one off hypo episodes without him having really settled into any lower numbers first.
He WAS in a much lower range from +4 to +9 on 6/17, so it's not like he had a one time low data point reading. And of course the higher depot is still in play for up to 3 days (6 cycles) when you reduce, so you will need to see how the depot settles and what the dose will do for him.
You can always go back up again after waiting the specified amount of time (I would suggest you put TR in your signature, so it's easy to see).
And it's normal for them to bounce after a long stretch of greens as he had on 6/17.

Paws crossed for a safe surf!
🏄‍♂️ 🐈‍⬛😻
 
He WAS in a much lower range from +4 to +9 on 6/17, so it's not like he had a one time low data point reading. And of course the higher depot is still in play for up to 3 days (6 cycles) when you reduce, so you will need to see how the depot settles and what the dose will do for him.
You can always go back up again after waiting the specified amount of time (I would suggest you put TR in your signature, so it's easy to see).
And it's normal for them to bounce after a long stretch of greens as he had on 6/17.

Paws crossed for a safe surf!
🏄‍♂️ 🐈‍⬛😻
Thank you for noticing that. I’m too close to the thing to see it all clearly. I appreciate everyone’s input! I see that I do have TR in my signature.
 
Thank you for noticing that. I’m too close to the thing to see it all clearly. I appreciate everyone’s input! I see that I do have TR in my signature.
Of course, I totally understand. It’s a lot to learn and get used to.
I’m still learning every single day. Even after 2.5 years here 🤯
Sometimes it’s easier for someone else to see the patterns. Like you said, you’re too close to it ❤️‍🩹
That’s why it’s good for you to post here and get some help!
Hope you both have a great day and a safe surf 🏄‍♂️ day 💕
 
Back
Top