6/2, Bell, AMPS 118 +2 131 +3.5 73 +5 46 +5.5 77 +6 73 +8 62 +10 60 PMPS 76 | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/2, Bell, AMPS 118 +2 131 +3.5 73 +5 46 +5.5 77 +6 73 +8 62 +10 60 PMPS 76

Seth&Bell

Active member
Yesterday

Hi all. Question on whether I should reduce here. I am making Bell earn reduction a bit more aggressively as Wendy described in Laurie and Petey's thread yesterday:

You could take the reduction tonight. Another thing to think about is whether you consider if he's a cat that holds reductions well. If not, there is an alternate for of earning reductions,. If using a human meter, that's 3 times on 3 separate days between 40 and 49. Or once under 40. Unfortunately we don't have at AT equivalent for those values.

Another point to consider, is this could be a bounce breaking cycle, which means extra downward momentum. Often dose reductions earned on bounce breaking cycles don't hold well. I'm glad he popped up pretty easily with just MC.

But, you have to decide what works best for you and Petey, and your ability to monitor.
Thread for context


Technically, Bell hit the under 40-49 mark at 1:30 PM on 5/31, on 3:00 AM on 6/1, and at noon on 6/2. I wasn't sure if I should count the 5/31 and 6/1 as two distinct events since they occurred on back-to-back cycles. I'm really happy Bell is clearing bounces so fast on this dose! I'm also really tired :p
 
Hi Cecile, Bell says thank you for the compliment!

Yes, I could certainly do a 1/4 unit reduction instead of a 1/2 unit reduction.

I guess another piece to this is that Bell is nearing her one-year FD anniversary. I need to track down the changes to TR but I recall using 40 as a reduction point instead of 50. That scares me a bit, especially with the IAA. I’ve never had her get that low. But it is also relevant here I think
 
From the Earning Reductions Info note:
Long term diabetics - more than one year since diagnosis
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 40 mg/dL for those following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
You could continue with the "does not hold reductions well option, bullet point #2, once she becomes long term.

As far as what to do now, theoretically the below 50 on the 5/31AM and 6/1PM are considered the same day.

But a big however, Bell has IAA and is on higher doses and thus depot. What you need to do is find out what works for Bell (and keeps her safe) by experimenting. For Neko, I never waited until under 40, cause with her acro it meant she was ready to reduce if she went under 50. I think I once tried the multiple under 50, but reduced after two. Neko had two different phases of reductions. Once was the steady every once in a while reduction, the other was the post SRT or IAA breaking and going down hard and fast mode. I once took a 0.25 unit reduction, and got slammed with a number in the 20's when the bounce cleared - that was the post SRT mode. When she was in the slow and steady mode, it was OK to take smaller reductions. I tended to half size reduction then, and full increases. That even meant 0.125 unit reductions when she got under 3 units.

Cats with higher doses and secondary endocrine conditions are special cases - you need to experiment with what works for your cat. ECID. Since you have work to consider, it's OK to be extra careful when you need to be. Over time, I learned when Neko was aiming for a reduction - her nadirs gradually came down, so I even took a couple reductions when she was dancing the 50's if I wasn't able to monitor that closely. If this time you want to see what happens when she reduces after two under 50's, let the experiment begin.
 
Last edited:
Thank you very much, Wendy. I shall ponder a bit. I bet the reading in the 20s got your heart rate up a bit! I honestly feel like this is a good dose for her. She is clearing bounces fast but still coming up from the 40s pretty soon after with a bit of MC. But I need to really be careful with work when/if this does break. A lot to think about…

Just to clarify for anyone else reading this, I believe Wendy meant “after two under 50s” in her last sentence there. One under 40 would be a reduction for sure.
 
Back
Top