Welcoming our Oldtimers’ to the new board. Please update us and let us know how you and your current kitty/ies are doing!
Please keep bumped!
Please keep bumped!
So glad to see you and @Chris & China (GA). Sweet Punkin is a legend with that sad picture of his woeful meow in the car ride to COI was on the board for several years beginning in 2010, when my sweet ginger Punkin became diabetic. People here readily identified him as acro based on his dose. The following year we drove him and Anya from Oregon to Colorado State University to have SRT done on his pituitary tumor (cause of acro and diabetes). He remained diabetic but his dose dropped considerably from 15.5u.
I'm forever grateful to the people here for giving me the extra couple of years with Punkin. He was an old soul in a furry body and I loved him completely.
Now we have a year old tuxie named Snickers, a 12 year old ginger named Frodo, and my son's all white cat (new wife was allergic) named Kila. She's almost 19 and newly diagnosed hyperthyroid.
Glad to see FDMB is still here, still helping diabetic cats and their people.
You’re welcome! I know some Oldtimers are registering for new accounts here so maybe they will post.I'm not singling Chris out for a "hello" since we have been in touch -- a lot recently with all of the commotion around the board and Robert's health.
But, JULIE!!! Great to hear from you and I'm especially glad that you found us.
And Marje -- thanks for setting up an old timers thread.
Hello Everyone, I'm really grateful for the moderators who have revitalized this site. I was quite distressed to check in on the original FDMB and find it languishing out of date. I thought I was having computer issues. Anyway thanks to moderators, again. I only wish I could gain access to all those hundreds, maybe thousands of posts made over the years in living with Blue and Eddie who are with me now in spirit. I've said elsewhere that in spite of it all, I would do it again in a heartbeat and when I registered yesterday for this new site, I was brought to tears reading some posts. I know you understand when I say I wish I could be posting daily and today I could say 06/22 Eddie AMPS and 06/22 Blue AMPS.Welcoming our Oldtimers’ to the new board. Please update us and let us know how you and your current kitty/ies are doing!
Please keep bumped!
Glad to see you, Jodey. We haven’t given up on, at least, trying to figure out a way to access old posts since the search engine doesn’t work. If we figure it out or can revive and update the old board, we will let everyone know. There is so much there in members’ posts that are invaluable.Hello Everyone, I'm really grateful for the moderators who have revitalized this site. I was quite distressed to check in on the original FDMB and find it languishing out of date. I thought I was having computer issues. Anyway thanks to moderators, again. I only wish I could gain access to all those hundreds, maybe thousands of posts made over the years in living with Blue and Eddie who are with me now in spirit. I've said elsewhere that in spite of it all, I would do it again in a heartbeat and when I registered yesterday for this new site, I was brought to tears reading some posts. I know you understand when I say I wish I could be posting daily and today I could say 06/22 Eddie AMPS and 06/22 Blue AMPS.![]()
I now with Ollie and Stevie, neither is diabetic. Stevie loved Eddie and Eddie and Blue brought Ollie up from kittenhood.
Anyway, I'm here and am wishing everyone and their kitties all good thoughts.
Thank you, Linda, for popping in. Bear Man is another legend and who doesn’t love Poppy antics in FBIt has been too long since I visited FDMB! My diabetic cat (pictured in my avatar) was Bear Man. He passed away in 2010, but I did remain active on the board for a while after that. Bear Man juggled a number of health issues, and had to take steroids and other medications to manage them. The steroids pushed him into Diabetes. With the help of FDMB, I was able to keep him in a safe range until he passed away due to complications of IBD.
I currently own one cat, named Poppy. She has some health issues, but she isn't diabetic (yet).
I'm grateful to the Moderators here for going to heroic lengths to keep this site functioning, both on a daily basis and also in the light of the recent near-loss of the board. Thanks to Marje and Gracie for spreading the word about this new site.
I have kept up with some FDMB Old Timers on social media, but it's great to see quite a few of them popping up in this condo!
@Tim & PookeyHi everyone we lead a very stressful life, family problems and barely have time I keep going with sinver my diabetic cat as we can. Maybe to catch up on the forum I require your help, with the new signature i how to attach my spreadsheet .. greetings to all glad to hear from you.
How do I add it to my signature ?@xelo
Sinver, hombre, 7 años, diagnóstico: mayo de 2023, Lantus (según el próximo humano), vacuna LC enlatada, CAD y lipidosis en mayo de 2023 TR.
Hoja de cálculo de Sinver
Guess how I found this , I googled xelo and sinver FDMB and one of your posts came up so I copied this for you
@xelo
So happy to see you found us! We all loved George (and you)Hi I'm Gill, my sugarcat was George, we joined FDMB back in 2017, where I met some wonderful like-minded folk who helped me get George regulated and into remission after about 6months of following TR (mantis). He had a couple of blips falling out of remission due to dental issues once and then steroid medication a second time. We were aggressive with his dosing and got him back into remission both times and he remained a diet controlled diabetic till the day he passed away (April 2024) at the ripe old age of 24. 9 years or so after his original diagnosis, 9 years we were gifted thanks to FDMB
I'm so sad to see that there have been problems with the original board and thankful to @Tim & Pookey for, in the true FDMB spirit, stepping in and helping get us up and running again, thanks to all of you for all your hard work.
Hi JLI made it over here too. I don’t have any diabetics currently, though I do have one who might be borderline, ugh.
After 20 years of checking in at FDMB nearly every day, I have to say I was having minor withdrawal symptoms when the original board went down. And I was very concerned about the folks who might be left “hanging” without warning. Thanks, @Tim & Pookey , for standing up this board so quickly and to the admins who have played such a vital role in easing the transition and tracking members down.
This is the 3rd iteration of the board in my time here, and there was at least one version of the board prior to that. Transitions can be painful… the board software becomes so familiar over time that it’s almost like visiting a friend, and learning a new look/feel can feel alien. But we’ll get there if we need to. It’s a gut punch when we actually lose the old database (as has happened in the past), though. Hopefully someone will “find the keys” to the old board and fix it, or at least salvage the database so it’s searchable.
In the meantime, can someone tell me whether there’s a comprehensive list of members somewhere and, if so, how to find it? I see a subset of members (top posts, points, etc) but not a full list. I’ve reached out to a few old timers and would like to check to see whether they’ve made it here.
That should exist here under the members tab, but you’re right, I’m not seeing it either. Will investigate when I get to my computer later this morning…In the meantime, can someone tell me whether there’s a comprehensive list of members somewhere and, if so, how to find it?
Done!@Tim & Pookey can add “well known member” to your user ID.
@JL and Chip should be there now.That should exist here under the members tab, but you’re right, I’m not seeing it either. Will investigate when I get to my computer later this morning…
So nice to see you post, Julie. You and Marje helped me so much with Max. I’m forever grateful!I was on the board for several years beginning in 2010, when my sweet ginger Punkin became diabetic. People here readily identified him as acro based on his dose. The following year we drove him and Anya from Oregon to Colorado State University to have SRT done on his pituitary tumor (cause of acro and diabetes). He remained diabetic but his dose dropped considerably from 15.5u.
I'm forever grateful to the people here for giving me the extra couple of years with Punkin. He was an old soul in a furry body and I loved him completely.
Now we have a year old tuxie named Snickers, a 12 year old ginger named Frodo, and my son's all white cat (new wife was allergic) named Kila. She's almost 19 and newly diagnosed hyperthyroid.
Glad to see FDMB is still here, still helping diabetic cats and their people.
Hey you changed your user name, EliseSo nice to see you post, Julie. You and Marje helped me so much with Max. I’m forever grateful!![]()
Welcome back, Kim!!! Glad to hear Gus is doing well.Hello all! So happy to see this forum up, I don’t know what I would have done without all of you back in my day - must have been a rough few weeks! Kudos @Tim & Pookey, it looks great and much more user friendly, likewise to the mods for taking the time to help transfer all the resources! Big hugs!
Update time: We posted here (or FDMB 1) for many months back in 2021-2022, about 9months, and with the help of the experts, we got Gus into remission.
His remission lasted just shy of 3 years, so back on insulin starting back in February of this year. He’s been doing really well and we are currently on day 3 of his second OTJ trial (I guess I’ll have to share my sheet in my signature which I have not done yet). Suspected UTI pushed him out but he could also use a dental as well.
Whether this forum be temporary or permanent, I’m just so happy to have this resource back for all the newbs and daily users.
Middle photo was our OTJ trial Purr Pop treat celebration session - which he very much enjoyed
Cheers xoxo
There used to be a really long list of members all the way back to the beginning of FDMB but Robert dropped it at sometimeThat should exist here under the members tab, but you’re right, I’m not seeing it either. Will investigate when I get to my computer later this morning…
Found it. Thanks so much!!@JL and Chip should be there now.
Greetings to all of you "old-timers"Welcoming our Oldtimers’ to the new board. Please update us and let us know how you and your current kitty/ies are doing!
Hi Jan!!!! I’m so happy to see you hear and your babies are adorable. The Admin her, Tim, has been moving as many posts as possible over but let me k ow if there is one you specifically want and we can see if we can retrieve it. It is difficult to retrieve specific cat condos…..I can’t access any of mine.Greetings to all of you "old-timers"
I want to begin this message by thanking @Marje and Gracie for starting this thread and @Tim & Pookey for doing such a fantastic job of getting this important website going again.
It was eight years ago, almost to the day, that I found the FDMB as I was trying to educate myself so I could help my newly diagnosed kitty, Radar. Back then my knowledge about diabetes in a cat was smaller than the size of a pencil tip. The unbridled encouragement, understanding and kindness that radiates from this community was exactly what I needed, especially in the early days of our diagnosis. I will always be grateful to this community for helping me acquire the knowledge, wisdom and resources I needed to be a better mom to my precious Radar.
My house is now filled with the biscuits, silly antics, and vigorous purring of two kitties. Mr. Sparkles is the three year old tabby and Skye is the snowshoe kitten, as seen below. They bring us lots of love and make us laugh every day. It was actually the current health issues of Mr. Sparkles, aka Sparky, that took me to the old message board seeking the answers I couldn't quite remember. I'm so glad I was able to discover this new website and find a lot of the needed information so I can try to help Sparky feel better. Like others have mentioned, I really hope it's possible to harvest the conversations on the old FDMB so it can be a searchable resource. My fingers and toes are crossed to help those involved in that process.
Wishing all of you much joy, Radar's mom, Jan
Yes. Mocha has been worrying me in addition to Chai so decided to add my current ones here.Hey you changed your user name, EliseAnd we all loved Max…such a sweetheart he was.
Oh no! Diarrhea again?Yes. Mocha has been worrying me in addition to Chai so decided to add my current ones here.
Bumpity bumpHi Jan!!!! I’m so happy to see you hear and your babies are adorable. The Admin her, Tim, has been moving as many posts as possible over but let me k ow if there is one you specifically want and we can see if we can retrieve it. It is difficult to retrieve specific cat condos…..I can’t access any of mine.![]()