6/21 Caturday Oldtimers’ Condo | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/21 Caturday Oldtimers’ Condo

Hi everybody! So happy that @Tim & Pookey was able to get this board up and running so quickly and the Mods have been working hard on bringing over as much of the old FDMB as they can.

Losing the old board is heartbreaking for a lot of us. There was always somebody there to stay with you during low numbers, calm you when you didn't know what to do and really care about each and every kitty there. I know this board will work hard to keep that caring feeling that was so evident on the old board.

I will forever be thankful for the advice and care that was shared with me when my first diabetic cat, China, was diagnosed. After her vet telling me she would only have 4 months to live, I found people who helped me give her many more years of life that I would have never had without them.

Now I've got Garfield, who was listed as a diabetic at the shelter he was in. Knowing that diabetes isn't a death sentence and isn't anything to be scared of, has brought me a lot of joy in seeing him loving life and doing great.

I wish more people would look past the diabetes diagnosis when looking for a new family member. In the words (slightly changed) of the immortal John Lennon, Give Sweet a Chance!
 
Last edited:
I was on the board for several years beginning in 2010, when my sweet ginger Punkin became diabetic. People here readily identified him as acro based on his dose. The following year we drove him and Anya from Oregon to Colorado State University to have SRT done on his pituitary tumor (cause of acro and diabetes). He remained diabetic but his dose dropped considerably from 15.5u.

I'm forever grateful to the people here for giving me the extra couple of years with Punkin. He was an old soul in a furry body and I loved him completely.

Now we have a year old tuxie named Snickers, a 12 year old ginger named Frodo, and my son's all white cat (new wife was allergic) named Kila. She's almost 19 and newly diagnosed hyperthyroid.

Glad to see FDMB is still here, still helping diabetic cats and their people.
 
I was on the board for several years beginning in 2010, when my sweet ginger Punkin became diabetic. People here readily identified him as acro based on his dose. The following year we drove him and Anya from Oregon to Colorado State University to have SRT done on his pituitary tumor (cause of acro and diabetes). He remained diabetic but his dose dropped considerably from 15.5u.

I'm forever grateful to the people here for giving me the extra couple of years with Punkin. He was an old soul in a furry body and I loved him completely.

Now we have a year old tuxie named Snickers, a 12 year old ginger named Frodo, and my son's all white cat (new wife was allergic) named Kila. She's almost 19 and newly diagnosed hyperthyroid.

Glad to see FDMB is still here, still helping diabetic cats and their people.
So glad to see you and @Chris & China (GA). Sweet Punkin is a legend with that sad picture of his woeful meow in the car ride to CO 😂
 
Julie - tons of hugs coming your way!!! Julie was my mentor and helped keep me sane through Neko's acro diagnosis and treatment when I was new on the board. Plus I got to meet her in person (and her DH) and she got to meet Neko.

Still a chronic tuxie person, though current one keeps me on my toes with IBD and small cell lymphoma (in remission).

What is the definition of old timer now? (looks in mirror 😆)
 
I'm not singling Chris out for a "hello" since we have been in touch -- a lot recently with all of the commotion around the board and Robert's health.

But, JULIE!!! Great to hear from you and I'm especially glad that you found us.

And Marje -- thanks for setting up an old timers thread.
You’re welcome! I know some Oldtimers are registering for new accounts here so maybe they will post. 🤞🏻🤞🏻🤞🏻🤞🏻
 
It has been too long since I visited FDMB! My diabetic cat (pictured in my avatar) was Bear Man. He passed away in 2010, but I did remain active on the board for a while after that. Bear Man juggled a number of health issues, and had to take steroids and other medications to manage them. The steroids pushed him into Diabetes. With the help of FDMB, I was able to keep him in a safe range until he passed away due to complications of IBD.

I currently own one cat, named Poppy. She has some health issues, but she isn't diabetic (yet).

I'm grateful to the Moderators here for going to heroic lengths to keep this site functioning, both on a daily basis and also in the light of the recent near-loss of the board. Thanks to Marje and Gracie for spreading the word about this new site.

I have kept up with some FDMB Old Timers on social media, but it's great to see quite a few of them popping up in this condo!
 
Welcoming our Oldtimers’ to the new board. Please update us and let us know how you and your current kitty/ies are doing!

Please keep bumped!
Hello Everyone, I'm really grateful for the moderators who have revitalized this site. I was quite distressed to check in on the original FDMB and find it languishing out of date. I thought I was having computer issues. Anyway thanks to moderators, again. I only wish I could gain access to all those hundreds, maybe thousands of posts made over the years in living with Blue and Eddie who are with me now in spirit. I've said elsewhere that in spite of it all, I would do it again in a heartbeat and when I registered yesterday for this new site, I was brought to tears reading some posts. I know you understand when I say I wish I could be posting daily and today I could say 06/22 Eddie AMPS and 06/22 Blue AMPS. ❤️ ❤️ I now with Ollie and Stevie, neither is diabetic. Stevie loved Eddie and Eddie and Blue brought Ollie up from kittenhood.

Anyway, I'm here and am wishing everyone and their kitties all good thoughts.
 
Hello Everyone, I'm really grateful for the moderators who have revitalized this site. I was quite distressed to check in on the original FDMB and find it languishing out of date. I thought I was having computer issues. Anyway thanks to moderators, again. I only wish I could gain access to all those hundreds, maybe thousands of posts made over the years in living with Blue and Eddie who are with me now in spirit. I've said elsewhere that in spite of it all, I would do it again in a heartbeat and when I registered yesterday for this new site, I was brought to tears reading some posts. I know you understand when I say I wish I could be posting daily and today I could say 06/22 Eddie AMPS and 06/22 Blue AMPS. ❤️ ❤️ I now with Ollie and Stevie, neither is diabetic. Stevie loved Eddie and Eddie and Blue brought Ollie up from kittenhood.

Anyway, I'm here and am wishing everyone and their kitties all good thoughts.
Glad to see you, Jodey. We haven’t given up on, at least, trying to figure out a way to access old posts since the search engine doesn’t work. If we figure it out or can revive and update the old board, we will let everyone know. There is so much there in members’ posts that are invaluable.
 
It has been too long since I visited FDMB! My diabetic cat (pictured in my avatar) was Bear Man. He passed away in 2010, but I did remain active on the board for a while after that. Bear Man juggled a number of health issues, and had to take steroids and other medications to manage them. The steroids pushed him into Diabetes. With the help of FDMB, I was able to keep him in a safe range until he passed away due to complications of IBD.

I currently own one cat, named Poppy. She has some health issues, but she isn't diabetic (yet).

I'm grateful to the Moderators here for going to heroic lengths to keep this site functioning, both on a daily basis and also in the light of the recent near-loss of the board. Thanks to Marje and Gracie for spreading the word about this new site.

I have kept up with some FDMB Old Timers on social media, but it's great to see quite a few of them popping up in this condo!
Thank you, Linda, for popping in. Bear Man is another legend and who doesn’t love Poppy antics in FB 💕💕.
 
Hi everyone we lead a very stressful life, family problems and barely have time I keep going with sinver my diabetic cat as we can. Maybe to catch up on the forum I require your help, with the new signature i how to attach my spreadsheet .. greetings to all glad to hear from you.
 
Hi everyone we lead a very stressful life, family problems and barely have time I keep going with sinver my diabetic cat as we can. Maybe to catch up on the forum I require your help, with the new signature i how to attach my spreadsheet .. greetings to all glad to hear from you.
@Tim & Pookey
@Chris & China (GA)
Hi Tim and Chris
I gave xelo the link on how to register, she was a member on FDMB , can you tell her how to find her cats spreadsheet
Thanks Tim
 
Last edited:
@xelo I think you can just press on his spreadsheet then you will see copy link text , copy it then paste it under your signature
Let me know if it works
Or just copy the whole thing I gave you signature and spreadsheet and copy that and paste it after you start your first thread or post
 
Hi I'm Gill, my sugarcat was George, we joined FDMB back in 2017, where I met some wonderful like-minded folk who helped me get George regulated and into remission after about 6months of following TR (mantis). He had a couple of blips falling out of remission due to dental issues once and then steroid medication a second time. We were aggressive with his dosing and got him back into remission both times and he remained a diet controlled diabetic till the day he passed away (April 2024) at the ripe old age of 24. 9 years or so after his original diagnosis, 9 years we were gifted thanks to FDMB

I'm so sad to see that there have been problems with the original board and thankful to @Tim & Pookey for, in the true FDMB spirit, stepping in and helping get us up and running again, thanks to all of you for all your hard work.
 
Hi I'm Gill, my sugarcat was George, we joined FDMB back in 2017, where I met some wonderful like-minded folk who helped me get George regulated and into remission after about 6months of following TR (mantis). He had a couple of blips falling out of remission due to dental issues once and then steroid medication a second time. We were aggressive with his dosing and got him back into remission both times and he remained a diet controlled diabetic till the day he passed away (April 2024) at the ripe old age of 24. 9 years or so after his original diagnosis, 9 years we were gifted thanks to FDMB

I'm so sad to see that there have been problems with the original board and thankful to @Tim & Pookey for, in the true FDMB spirit, stepping in and helping get us up and running again, thanks to all of you for all your hard work.
So happy to see you found us! We all loved George (and you) 😉
 
I made it over here too. I don’t have any diabetics currently, though I do have one who might be borderline, ugh.

After 20 years of checking in at FDMB nearly every day, I have to say I was having minor withdrawal symptoms when the original board went down. And I was very concerned about the folks who might be left “hanging” without warning. Thanks, @Tim & Pookey , for standing up this board so quickly and to the admins who have played such a vital role in easing the transition and tracking members down.

This is the 3rd iteration of the board in my time here, and there was at least one version of the board prior to that. Transitions can be painful… the board software becomes so familiar over time that it’s almost like visiting a friend, and learning a new look/feel can feel alien. But we’ll get there if we need to. It’s a gut punch when we actually lose the old database (as has happened in the past), though. Hopefully someone will “find the keys” to the old board and fix it, or at least salvage the database so it’s searchable.

In the meantime, can someone tell me whether there’s a comprehensive list of members somewhere and, if so, how to find it? I see a subset of members (top posts, points, etc) but not a full list. I’ve reached out to a few old timers and would like to check to see whether they’ve made it here.
 
I made it over here too. I don’t have any diabetics currently, though I do have one who might be borderline, ugh.

After 20 years of checking in at FDMB nearly every day, I have to say I was having minor withdrawal symptoms when the original board went down. And I was very concerned about the folks who might be left “hanging” without warning. Thanks, @Tim & Pookey , for standing up this board so quickly and to the admins who have played such a vital role in easing the transition and tracking members down.

This is the 3rd iteration of the board in my time here, and there was at least one version of the board prior to that. Transitions can be painful… the board software becomes so familiar over time that it’s almost like visiting a friend, and learning a new look/feel can feel alien. But we’ll get there if we need to. It’s a gut punch when we actually lose the old database (as has happened in the past), though. Hopefully someone will “find the keys” to the old board and fix it, or at least salvage the database so it’s searchable.

In the meantime, can someone tell me whether there’s a comprehensive list of members somewhere and, if so, how to find it? I see a subset of members (top posts, points, etc) but not a full list. I’ve reached out to a few old timers and would like to check to see whether they’ve made it here.
Hi JL

Glad you found us. We haven’t been able to access that old list, unfortunately. @Tim & Pookey can add “well known member” to your user ID. Please let anyone you know where we are and welcome back.
 
I was on the board for several years beginning in 2010, when my sweet ginger Punkin became diabetic. People here readily identified him as acro based on his dose. The following year we drove him and Anya from Oregon to Colorado State University to have SRT done on his pituitary tumor (cause of acro and diabetes). He remained diabetic but his dose dropped considerably from 15.5u.

I'm forever grateful to the people here for giving me the extra couple of years with Punkin. He was an old soul in a furry body and I loved him completely.

Now we have a year old tuxie named Snickers, a 12 year old ginger named Frodo, and my son's all white cat (new wife was allergic) named Kila. She's almost 19 and newly diagnosed hyperthyroid.

Glad to see FDMB is still here, still helping diabetic cats and their people.
So nice to see you post, Julie. You and Marje helped me so much with Max. I’m forever grateful! 💕
 
Hello all! So happy to see this forum up, I don’t know what I would have done without all of you back in my day - must have been a rough few weeks! Kudos @Tim & Pookey, it looks great and much more user friendly, likewise to the mods for taking the time to help transfer all the resources! Big hugs!

Update time: We posted here (or FDMB 1) for many months back in 2021-2022, about 9months, and with the help of the experts, we got Gus into remission.

His remission lasted just shy of 3 years, so back on insulin starting back in February of this year. He’s been doing really well and we are currently on day 3 of his second OTJ trial (I guess I’ll have to share my sheet in my signature which I have not done yet 😬). Suspected UTI pushed him out but he could also use a dental as well.

Whether this forum be temporary or permanent, I’m just so happy to have this resource back for all the newbs and daily users.

Middle photo was our OTJ trial Purr Pop treat celebration session - which he very much enjoyed 😂

Cheers xoxo
 

Attachments

  • IMG_5807.jpeg
    IMG_5807.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 7
  • IMG_5933.jpeg
    IMG_5933.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 6
  • IMG_5481.jpeg
    IMG_5481.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 5
  • IMG_5538.jpeg
    IMG_5538.jpeg
    3.8 MB · Views: 3
Last edited:
Hello all! So happy to see this forum up, I don’t know what I would have done without all of you back in my day - must have been a rough few weeks! Kudos @Tim & Pookey, it looks great and much more user friendly, likewise to the mods for taking the time to help transfer all the resources! Big hugs!

Update time: We posted here (or FDMB 1) for many months back in 2021-2022, about 9months, and with the help of the experts, we got Gus into remission.

His remission lasted just shy of 3 years, so back on insulin starting back in February of this year. He’s been doing really well and we are currently on day 3 of his second OTJ trial (I guess I’ll have to share my sheet in my signature which I have not done yet 😬). Suspected UTI pushed him out but he could also use a dental as well.

Whether this forum be temporary or permanent, I’m just so happy to have this resource back for all the newbs and daily users.

Middle photo was our OTJ trial Purr Pop treat celebration session - which he very much enjoyed 😂

Cheers xoxo
Welcome back, Kim!!! Glad to hear Gus is doing well.
 
Welcoming our Oldtimers’ to the new board. Please update us and let us know how you and your current kitty/ies are doing!
Greetings to all of you "old-timers" :love:

I want to begin this message by thanking @Marje and Gracie for starting this thread and @Tim & Pookey for doing such a fantastic job of getting this important website going again.

It was eight years ago, almost to the day, that I found the FDMB as I was trying to educate myself so I could help my newly diagnosed kitty, Radar. Back then my knowledge about diabetes in a cat was smaller than the size of a pencil tip. The unbridled encouragement, understanding and kindness that radiates from this community was exactly what I needed, especially in the early days of our diagnosis. I will always be grateful to this community for helping me acquire the knowledge, wisdom and resources I needed to be a better mom to my precious Radar.

My house is now filled with the biscuits, silly antics, and vigorous purring of two kitties. Mr. Sparkles is the three year old tabby and Skye is the snowshoe kitten, as seen below. They bring us lots of love and make us laugh every day. It was actually the current health issues of Mr. Sparkles, aka Sparky, that took me to the old message board seeking the answers I couldn't quite remember. I'm so glad I was able to discover this new website and find a lot of the needed information so I can try to help Sparky feel better. Like others have mentioned, I really hope it's possible to harvest the conversations on the old FDMB so it can be a searchable resource. My fingers and toes are crossed to help those involved in that process. 📚📖🧐

Wishing all of you much joy, Radar's mom, Jan
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0717.jpeg
    IMG_0717.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 1
  • IMG_0031.jpeg
    IMG_0031.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 2
Hi Jan, I remember you and Radar, so glad you found your way to the newish version of FDMB, there are so many CGs from our time that aren’t really around anymore, it’s nice to see a familiar name. What sweet and beautiful kitties you have :love:💕
 
Greetings to all of you "old-timers" :love:

I want to begin this message by thanking @Marje and Gracie for starting this thread and @Tim & Pookey for doing such a fantastic job of getting this important website going again.

It was eight years ago, almost to the day, that I found the FDMB as I was trying to educate myself so I could help my newly diagnosed kitty, Radar. Back then my knowledge about diabetes in a cat was smaller than the size of a pencil tip. The unbridled encouragement, understanding and kindness that radiates from this community was exactly what I needed, especially in the early days of our diagnosis. I will always be grateful to this community for helping me acquire the knowledge, wisdom and resources I needed to be a better mom to my precious Radar.

My house is now filled with the biscuits, silly antics, and vigorous purring of two kitties. Mr. Sparkles is the three year old tabby and Skye is the snowshoe kitten, as seen below. They bring us lots of love and make us laugh every day. It was actually the current health issues of Mr. Sparkles, aka Sparky, that took me to the old message board seeking the answers I couldn't quite remember. I'm so glad I was able to discover this new website and find a lot of the needed information so I can try to help Sparky feel better. Like others have mentioned, I really hope it's possible to harvest the conversations on the old FDMB so it can be a searchable resource. My fingers and toes are crossed to help those involved in that process. 📚📖🧐

Wishing all of you much joy, Radar's mom, Jan
Hi Jan!!!! I’m so happy to see you hear and your babies are adorable. The Admin her, Tim, has been moving as many posts as possible over but let me k ow if there is one you specifically want and we can see if we can retrieve it. It is difficult to retrieve specific cat condos…..I can’t access any of mine. 😢
 
Back
Top