6/4 - PHOEBE - AMPS - 70. One more day to dose reduction. | Feline Diabetes Management Board

6/4 - PHOEBE - AMPS - 70. One more day to dose reduction.

Please help me to understand the TR and reducing doses for her.
Following TR means following an all low carb wet or raw, which you are, and getting at least 2 tests per cycle. That means the preshot and at least one other, both AM and PM. TR is more aggressive than SLGS, hence the need to test more to catch any lows. This is for Phoebe's safety.

This info post may be helpful on reductions:
Specifically this quote:
Long term diabetics - more than one year since diagnosis
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 40 mg/dL for those following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
 
The second one should be at least 2 hours after the shot. If you can get one 4-6 hours after, that would be great.
 
Back
Top